Art and Photography, Uncategorized

Artsy Wednesdays: Mandala Painting

Mandalas have been a trend for quite some time now. There are coloring books and textiles with all sorts of mandalas,..there are even apps that allow you to make your own mandalas without having to repeat each motif. I’m pretty old school and I love painting, or drawing, my mandalas because there’s something soothing about it.

I made these mandalas using the amaziograph app and then edited the colors on the procreate app. It’s pretty easy to make and they don’t really take so much time. So if you want to come up with a design very fast, just buy these two apps and you’re good to go. Just research them in your device store and you’ll find them.

The word ‘mandala’ if I’m not mistaken means a circle with a geometric pattern. It symbolizes the universe which is pretty cool because it also symbolizes radial balance and I’m all about that.

Balance is key to everything.

When painting my mandalas I like to use soft colors on black so that they can pop up and be soothing. I love painting mandalas in corners. What I mean by that is that I divide the mandala into fours and paint each quarter on a different canvas corner.

Here’s a short timelapse video of me painting one corner of a mandala:

Make your mandalas and share them with me. I want to see your creative juices 😀

Bonus tip: Use the squeeze paint bottles with nozzles for more detailed and intricate work! You can get them on amazon right here: http://amzn.to/2qZSXJX
Also, if you’re going for the coloring books, you can also find a ton of them on amazon: http://amzn.to/2r6aGDG

Leave a Reply

